HAVE YOU GOT A PIERCING?

Tattoos and piercings used to be the ultimate rebellion against a white-collar world filled with Windsor knots and pearl pendants, but nowadays it’s almost as if going traditional in the skin you were born in is what will really get you some stares. I never was a big fan of getting something reflective and “deep” scribbled in permanent ink beneath my epidermis, but putting a hole where there once was none has always intrigued me. Where tattoos can sometimes be a wordy passage that is only important to the wearer, for me a piercing is like putting an exclamation point on the part of your body you think is the sexiest; a sexclamation point, if you will. Being a professional, it’s important to me to get a piercing that is subtle yet sexy, so while you won’t catch me rocking any snake bites, I’ve been researching the next part of my body I’d like penetrated by a needle, besides my ear lobes and navel. Thinking about getting poked somewhere else besides Facebook? Take a look at this guide to some of the most popular piercings:

 

1. Navel

    Pain Level (on a scale of 1-10, 10 being the most painful): 4

Excited from the freedom of no longer needing parental permission, for my 18th birthday I treated myself to a navel piercing. From personal experience, I can honestly say this piercing didn’t make me the least bit uncomfortable. The piercer marked the area of my navel that he felt was the center and asked me if I was comfortable with it. I was worried if my “outtie” bellybutton would prove to be problem, but he reassured me that both “innies” and “outties” were able to easily be pierced. He did ask me if I wanted the piercing on the top of my navel or beneath it. I chose over my navel. The piercer had me engaged in a hilarious conversation about different neighborhoods in Philadelphia while he prepared his clamp and needle, and before I knew it after a dull ache that was more annoying than painful it was over. If you’re looking to show off a flat stomach or you want to give your less than flat stomach a bit of artwork, then navel piercings are for you. I’m not one to bare my belly too often, so this piercing also works well if you want to give your guy a nice surprise when undressing, but you still want to appear professional at work without having to remove your jewelry. I am more partial to simple bar bell rings that don’t tangle and get caught in clothing. They are also fairly easy to take care of during the healing process (4 mths.- 1 year) by simply washing with anti-bacterial soap and/or saline solution to avoid infection.

 

2. Eyebrow

    Pain Level: 1

For eyebrow piercings to appear as edgy and bad-ass as they do, frequently pierced persons consider them to be the least painful of the other piercings on our list. Eyebrow piercings among other facial piercings aren’t for the shy. They aren’t as discreet as other piercings that you can cover with clothing, but since this hole if often filled with only a 16-12 gauge curved bar bell, I guess they are as elicit as a facial piercing can be. They heal faster than most other piercings, usually taking roughly three months to heal completely and can be cared for by washing twice daily with antibacterial soap. It’s important to also avoid eyebrow waxing when wearing an eyebrow piercing; try tweezing or threading instead.

 

3. Nose

    Pain Level: 5

When it comes to cartilage, even the smallest of schnozes come with plenty of it to pierce. Depending on your threshold for pain, a nostril piercing could breeze by as fast as a sneeze or it could leave your eyes brimming with tears for what seems like forever. In the 80’s and 90’s people were definitely creative, rocking everything from nose rings to link chains that connected your nostril ring to your earring (Think Janet Jackson’s Velvet Rope era) but nowadays most wearers prefer a pretty simple stud. Nostril rings take about 6 months to heal completely but this time can vary depending on the person. During the healing process it’s especially important to handle the piercing with clean hands (both inside the nose and out) and to be careful when blowing your nose.

By Toya Sharee

 

 

 

3 comments on “HAVE YOU GOT A PIERCING?

  1. Thanks for all your efforts on this blog. Betty takes pleasure in participating in research and it is easy to see why. I notice all about the lively method you provide sensible tips and hints through the web site and as well attract contribution from other people on that topic plus my princess has been learning a lot of things. Have fun with the remaining portion of the year. You’re the one doing a powerful job.

  2. I am planning on starting to take birth control soon(most likely nuva ring), and I can’t take the acne medication I am currently on because it might interfere. I think I will wait a while and see if the hormones in the birth control help control my acne, but in case they don’t, could someone please suggest some acne medications that would be ok to take while on the nuva ring or any other birth control?.

Leave a Reply

